Alumni Spotlight: Amy Bowlin

Name: Amy Bowlin                                        Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 9.38.11 AM

Graduated: May 2014

Cool fact about you: I have an 8 year old son named Ethan and we are big hockey fans! Go Wild!

What is your current job and what do you do there?

My current job is a Marketing Assistant for the Trade-Up Men’s Underwear team at Fruit of the Loom. I work on the largest portion of the business, but my team (composed of me and my Director) focus on new innovation and Premium brands for men’s Fruit of the Loom branded underwear. You can find the product I work on at Old Navy, Sears, JCPenney, Target, Kmart, Amazon, and starting next month Kohl’s. The marketing team at Fruit of the Loom acts as the glue that holds everything together. We work on everything from product concept development & pricing to packaging & in-store signage…and everything in between. There is always something new and exciting going on!

How are you using your degree at your current job?

I use my degree every single day at my job! A marketing degree is required to work in the marketing department at Fruit of the Loom, and there is no way I could keep up without the solid foundation WKU gave me. All of those tests you’ve taken covering marketing definitions will definitely come in handy, so study hard! Another one of the big things the professors hammer into you are the 4 P’s (Product, Price, Promotion, Place-Distribution). I work daily with all 4 P’s in the corporate world! Lastly, and probably most important, was the group work I did my senior semester. The group projects in Melancon, Todd, Gotlieb, and Gardner’s classes were helpful in so many ways. Learning how to develop marketing plans and how to manage group members who may not have the same work ethic was tough, but that’s real life marketing!

What was your favorite class at WKU?

All of my marketing professors were amazing, but if I have to narrow it down, I’ll pick two classes. Dr. Melancon’s Social Media class and Dr. Martin’s Intro to Marketing class. Both of these professors are amazing and their classes left a lasting impression. Dr. Melancon is so witty and made learning fun! You never walked into her class expecting to read slides off a PowerPoint. I learned so much in Dr. Martin’s class, and it was the reason I switched from an Accounting major to a Marketing major!

What was your favorite thing about WKU?

The small class sizes allow you to build great relationships with other students and professors. It feels like a family, and I think that’s what makes the spirit of WKU so special!

What advice would you give to future graduates?

My biggest word of advice for future graduates is to take Dr. Cosby’s MGT 361 class and build your career portfolio. Take your career portfolio and all of your Marketing group projects you’ve completed to every job interview you have. I was told that my career portfolio helped me stand out from the crowd and land me the job I have now!

Leave a Reply

