Student Spotlight: Emily Deep

10593142_10152355602026243_1855404724291099669_n

Name: Emily Deep
Year: Senior
Marketing concentration: Social media
Cool fact about you: I’ve been a vegetarian since I was 14.

Why did you choose your concentration?
Honestly, I knew I wasn’t cut out for sales and I wasn’t sure what strategic marketing entailed. Freshman me thought a concentration in social media sounded the “coolest” and I would be paid to sit on social media platforms all day.

What about your concentration do you like the best?
My favorite thing about a concentration is social media is that it is fast-paced and there’s always something new to learn and leaves a lot of room for creativity when content for the platforms.

What has been your favorite class and why?
In MKT 420: Advanced Social Media Marketing, I’m getting to not only plan, but execute a social media campaign for the Marketing Department.  This has given me real experience that I will set me apart when I’m applying for jobs for after graduation.

Experience gained through projects/internships:
Last summer, I interned for an advertising agency in Louisville, KY. It was a great experience that taught me a lot and I felt that all my marketing classes had prepared me well. I got to work on campaigns for some major businesses and organizations like Kosair Children’s Hospital, University of Louisville Athletics, and Brown Forman.

How do you plan on utilizing your major post-graduation?
-insert crying emoji- (On the struggle to figuring that out)

Are you involved in any other organization on campus?
Yes, I served at the Public Relations Chair for WKU Relay for Life and I’m a colony member of Alpha Xi Delta

What is your favorite thing about being a Hilltopper?
I love having all the perks of a big university, but closeness and small class sizes of a smaller college.

Leave a Reply

